The Future of Marketing

Oh, friends!

There is nothing that shoots me to the edge of my chair, captures my attention, or draws me in quite like asking questions about what is to come in our future, regardless of the topic. I believe it is of utmost importance to practice forward thinking in every area of our lives, but of course, today I am naturally going to drift to discussing the future of marketing since I like to consider studying marketing to be a passion project of mine. Small business owners like to do all the things (a blessing, and a curse I tell you!)

keisha-sarahdelanie8534

Daniel Newman, an analyst and researcher of all things digital, wrote an intriguing article for Forbes.com titled “10 Top Trends Driving The Future Of Marketing.” Guess who was hooked? Yep, me.

The point he made the struck me the most was this,

“The power of user-generated content will surpass branded content as brands begin to relinquish control of their own brands’ marketing to their customers.”

Wait, you want brands to do what? Something about that statement causes the controlled, predictable, structural, and organized tendencies in me to do a double take. I am more than comfortable with studying a market, and then crafting a brand to meet that market’s needs, but when you ask me to “relinquish control” of my brand and allow the customer to do that kind of work I start to question things.

Do you will we will even need marketers in the next 40-50 years if we are starting to relinquish various aspects of our job? Do you think this idea of co-creation marketing will turn into customers running the show? I want to know YOUR thoughts.

Leave a Reply

